In the past twelve years, China Tennis Open from little-known low-level tour development become the global top eight, first in Asia, the Asia Pacific most leadership event.

  • 2004
    the only tennis event in China named after the country-China Open, was launched.
  • 2005
    Dali and Xiaomei were chosen as China Open mascots.
  • 2006
    China Open became the first tournament other than the US Open to use the Hawk-Eye system.
  • 2007
    Beijing Benz became the first presenting sponsor in the history of China Open; the Beijing International Tennis Summit was officially launched, and has continued to be held every other year.
  • 2008
    the China Open Rating Tour was founded as a national amateur tennis league, and has continued to be held since then; and the WTA recognized China Open for its outstanding contribution over the past five years.
  • 2009
    China Open moved to the National Tennis Center, the venue for the tennis matches of Beijing Olympics; it become more recognized as a top event next only to the Grand Slams on both tours; the men’s and women’s trophies were officially determined and named Cup of China; and for the first time since the event began, a theme song was introduced, titled as Flying with Pride.
  • 2010
    the Beijing International Challenger was held.
  • 2011
    Diamond Court was officially opened as the new center court.
  • 2012
    the ATP recognized China Open for providing an outstanding fan experience.
  • 2013
    China Open was once again honored by the WTA for being the leading tournament in the Asia-Pacific region.
  • 2014
    Novak Djokovic took the men’s singles championship, and became the first player who won three consecutive titles in the China Open history; Li Na, as the first Grand Slam singles champion from China, held her retirement press conference and ceremony in the China Open.
  • 2015
    The China Open ranked No.1 in global WTA broadcast viewership for the first time; the commercial structure was filled up for the first time, with 41 sponsors and partners including 1 presenting sponsor, 3 diamond sponsors and 8 platinum sponsors; the profit of the company exceeded 10,000,000 yuan for the first time.
  • 2016
    The China Open once again ranked No.1 in global WTA broadcast viewership, and ranked first, second and third in one-day WTA broadcast viewership.
  • 2017
    Simona Halep became WTA World No.1 after reaching the women’s singles final in the China Open; and Rafael Nadal once again clinched the men’s singles trophy in the China Open after 12 years.
  • 2018
    The China Open celebrated its 15th anniversary. The Organizing Committee announced the establishment of "Champion Avenue" outside the Diamond Court with the handprints and signatures of previous champions. Basilashvili won the first Chinese Open men's singles championship, becoming the 10th Chinese Open champion. Wozniacki won the women's singles championship again after eight years.
  • 2019
    In 2019, all the match courts of the China Open have featured Hawk-Eye technology, thus the tournament has become the first tennis event in Asia to have Hawk-Eye on all match courts. Besides, the China Open is also the first tennis event in the world to apply 5G+8K technology for signal generation. After nine days of competition, Dominic Thiem took the China Open men's singles title, and Ōsaka Naomi won the women's singles crown.
  • Match
  • Activity